The European High-Perfomance Computing Joint Undertaking (EuroHPC JU) is a legal and funding entity, created in 2018 and located in Luxembourg.  It allows the European Union and participating countries to coordinate their efforts and pool their resources to develop top-of-the-range exascale supercomputers, based on competitive European technology.

The EuroHPC JU gathers:

  • Public members: the European Union, as well as EU member states and associated countries. To date, the following countries have joined the JU: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and Turkey. 
  • Two private members: our association (ETP4HPC) and the Big Data Value Association (BDVA).

ETP4HPC chairs one of the two main advisory bodies of EuroHPC – its Research and Innovation Advisory Board. This body processes the ETP4HPC SRA, amongst other sources, and establishes the objectives of the EuroHPC funded research.

How does it work?

The Joint Undertaking provides financial support in the form of procurement or research and innovation grants to participants following open and competitive calls. Its activities are currently focused on two areas:

  • Developing a world-class supercomputing infrastructure: procuring and deploying by 2021 in the EU three pre-exascale supercomputers (capable of at least 1017 calculations per second) and five petascale supercomputers (capable of at least 1015 calculations per second). These new machines will be located across the European Union and will be available to Europe's private and public users, scientific and industrial users everywhere in Europe. See the details below.
  • Supporting Research and innovation: to foster the European supercomputing ecosystem, stimulating a technology supply industry, and making supercomputing resources in many application areas available to a large number of public and private users, including small and medium-sized enterprises.

Through its research and innovation agenda, the EuroHPC JU is also strengthening the European knowledge base in HPC technologies and bridging the digital skills gap, notably through the creation of a network of national HPC Competence Centres. The Competence Centres will act locally to ease access to European HPC opportunities in different industrial sectors, delivering tailored solutions for a wide variety of users.

High-range Pre-Exascale Supercomputers:

  • 3 hosting sites for 3 multi-country consortia: Finland, Spain and Italy
  • Selected performance: 150-200 Pflops
  • Investment: ~€650 million (CAPEX+OPEX)
  • Open procurement started in Q4 2019
  • Installation 2021

Medium-to-high range Supercomputers:

  • 5 sites selected in 5 different countries (Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Luxembourg, Portugal, Slovenia), performance: at least 4 Pflops
  • Investment: 180 million Euros (CAPEX), 34 Million from EU

For more information


Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies Learn more