ETP4HPC is one of the 36 European Technology Platforms. ETP4HPC was incorporated as a Dutch association in December 2012.

Any organisation with HPC R&D activities in Europe can become a full member of ETP4HPC and be elected in the ETP4HPC Steering Board. Other organisations can become associated members.

Both full and associated members are invited to our General Assembly activities, and can take part in our Working Groups.

Steering Board

ETP4HPC is managed by a Steering Board of 15 members representing:

  • Research centres (5): CEA , Cineca, ECMWF, Forschungszentrum Juelich (FZJ), Fraunhofer
  • European SMEs (3): Megware, ParTec, SiPearl
  • European controlled corporations (5): Airbus, Atos/Bull, Leonardo, Seagate, Thales
  • International companies with R&D in Europe (2): IBM Research, Nvidia


Current Steering Board organisation

  • Chairman:  Eviden/Bull  -  Jean-Pierre Panziera
  • Vice-chair for Research:  CINECA  -  Daniele Cesarini
  • Vice-chair for Industry:  Seagate  -  Richard Pitwon
  • Secretary-Administrator:  ParTec  -  Hugo Falter
  • Treasurer:  Fraunhofer  -  Guy Lonsdale



The Chairman of ETP4HPC

Jean-Pierre Panziera is the Chief Technology Director for Extreme Computing at Eviden. He started his career in 1982 developing new algorithms for seismic processing in the research department of the Elf-Aquitaine oil company. He then moved to the Silicon valley as an application engineer and took part in a couple of startup projects, including a parallel supercomputer for Evans & Sutherland in 1989. During the following 20 years, he worked for SGI successively as application engineer, leader of the HPC application group and Chief Engineer. In 2009, he joined Bull, now an Eviden company, where he is responsible for the HPC developments. Jean-Pierre holds an engineer degree from Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Paris.



We have a virtual Office. The members of our Office team are based in several European countries (France, Germany,  Spain, Netherlands, Italy). They either work from home or are hosted by an ETP4HPC member.

The Office is in charge of editorial work for the Strategic Research Agenda (SRA), general support for communication and administration, and more generally, all executive tasks under the Steering Board supervision.

Meet the team: the ETP4HPC Office Experts


Gabriella Povero is our Office Manager. Gabriella graduated from Politecnico di Torino in Electronics Engineering. Since 2003, she has been with Istituto Superiore Mario Boella now Fondazione LINKS, where she led the International Cooperation team in the Satellite Navigation Research Area. In this role, she coordinated several European and national projects which focused on joint research and capacity building actions while supporting European GNSS companies to explore new markets, in particular in Southeastern Asia. She contributed to the setup and management of the NAVIS, a joint Europe-Vietnam research centre on GNSS based at the Hanoi University of Science and Technology. Since 1997, she has been contract professor at Politecnico di Torino for courses on Signal Processing and Satellite Navigation Systems. She is now innovation manager in the Centre on Earth Observation in LINKS.


Dr. Michael MALMS is an ETP4HPC Expert with a focus on the generation of SRA updates and future technical HPC roadmaps. He is now retired from IBM. Previous to his retirement, he held held various technical and management positions in IBM System Development in Boeblingen and in the US. His main domain was pioneering new System Architectures and Designs, during the last 15 years mainly in the area of HPC (e.g. the compute nodes for the 2004 "Mare Nostrum“ System at the Barcelona Supercomputing Center as well as for the first Petaflop "Roadrunner“ System in 2008 were both developed by his development team). He graduated from the Technical University of Aachen (Germany) in 1978 and received a PhD degree in Computer Science in 1982.



Sai Narasimhamurthy is our new Office expert in charge of the ETP4HPC Strategic Research Agenda, gradually taking over the role of Michael Malms. Sai is Senior Technologist and Project Manager (R&D) working with ParTec AG. Sai previously headed EU R&D for Seagate Systems where he has actively led and contributed to multiple European led HPC and Cloud research initiatives over a decade, incl. coordinating and providing technical leadership for projects such as SAGE and Sage2. Going back, Sai was CTO and Co-founder at 4Blox, inc, a venture capital backed storage infrastructure software company in California addressing IP SAN(Storage Area Network) performance issues. Sai obtained his PhD from Arizona State University in the area of high performance data storage.


Marcin Ostasz graduated from the Technical University of Budapest at the Faculty of Electronics with an MSc degree and he also holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree awarded by Oxford Brookes University in the UK. Marcin has over 20 years of combined experience gained at various technical, project management, operations management, business analysis and process improvement positions with organisations such as Nokia, American Power Conversion, Dell, GE and Barclays Bank. Most recently, Marcin worked at Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC) as a business analyst. He now works full time for ETP4HPC as an Expert. He specialises in managing industrial relations, road-mapping, workshop management and business analysis. Marcin speaks Polish, English, Irish, Catalan, Hungarian and Czech.



Pascale Bernier-Bruna is our Communication leader. She holds a Master in Translation from Institut Supérieur d'Interprétariat et de Traduction in Paris. She joined Bull (now part of the Eviden group) in 1986 and has since held a number of positions in technical documentation, marketing, and communication. She joined the HPC division in 2006. She is currently Communication Manager at Eviden, in charge of funded projects. She is the dissemination leader for projects EUPEX, NEASQC and RED-SEA. She has been part of the ETP4HPC Office Team since March 2018.



Carolien Deklerk is our Accountant. She is based in the Netherlands


Caroline Blanke joined us in 2022 to be our project manager for the DestinE project we are involved in - Strategic Technology Agenda (STA) for DestinE. Caroline currently is an EU Project Management Consultant at Neovia Innovation, and has a long experience of funded project management. She holds a Master in International Politics, International/Global Studies obtained in a double dregree programme from Sciences Po Bordeaux and Università degli Studi di Torino.



ETP4HPC members

See the members list >

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies Learn more